The Humble Indie Bundle 5

I bought the Humble Indie Bundle 5 this week.  I have actually bought the last three and have always been satisfied, but this one has me excited like never before.  The selection is awesome: Bastion, Psychonaughts, LIMBO, Amnesia, Superbrothers: S&W EP.

I really like LIMBO.  It is an interesting in a good way game.  I’ll probably post more about that later.

I tried Psychonauts and besides the movie in the beginning it looks like a promising game.  I know. I know.  Everyone loves it.  I’m withholding judgment for now.

My favorite game of all is hands down Bastion.  I’m not exactly sure what it is: maybe the art, maybe the game play, EVERYTHING.  It is one of the best games I have ever played.  The folks over at Supergiant Games nailed it!

I want to do some follow up posts analyzing the game design and what I think works.  For instance, I really like how the game gives the player a new skill then immediately allows them to use it in a pertinent way.

More later.  For now go get the Humble Indie Bundle 5.

Leave a Reply

