Quick Thoughts On Estimates

I have been thinking a lot about estimates lately. As software developers we are asked to give estimates all the time.  It’s part of the job.  For me, it’s a hard part of the job.  I can never seem to get them right even when I am meticulous in my process.  I usually forget or overlook something. With that said, life is about learning and getting better, and this is the nature of this article: getting better.

The following is a list of tips when creating and managing estimates.

  1. Understand the requirements.
  2. Break large tasks into smaller tasks
  3. Estimate each small task in hours
  4. Give each task a time slot on your calendar
  5. Plan for meetings and code reviews
  6. Communicate adjustments early

That’s just a quick list of my current thoughts.  I’m thinking about expanding on each point at a later time.  If you are reading this and you have any tips for making estimates, please feel free to share them in the comments.

Thanks.

2 thoughts on “Quick Thoughts On Estimates

Leave a Reply

